College Football Champions

NCAA Football Champions | CFP/BCS Playoff Results |
Heisman Trophy Winners | Jump to Bottom

** indicates that the 2020 college football season had numerous cancelled or postponed games, including some bowl games, due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

YearConsensus National Champion(s)Selecting Organizations
2022-23Georgia (15-0)CFP
2021-22Georgia (14-1)CFP
2020-21**Alabama (13-0)CFP
2019-20LSU (15-0)CFP
2018-19Clemson (15-0)CFP
2017-18Alabama (13-1) CFP
2016-17Clemson (14-1) CFP
2015-16Alabama (14-1) CFP
2014-15Ohio State (14-1)CFP
2013-14Florida State (14-0)BCS
2012-13Alabama (13-1) BCS
2011-12Alabama (12-1)BCS
2010-11Auburn (14-0) BCS
2009-10Alabama (14-0) BCS
2008-09Florida (13-1) BCS
2007-08LSU (12-2)BCS
2006-07Florida (13-1) BCS
2005-06Texas (13-0)BCS
2004-05USC (13-0)BCS
2003-04LSU (13-1), USC (12-1)LSU (BCS, NFF, USA-ESPN), USC (AP, FWAA)
2002-03Ohio State (14-0)BCS
2001-02Miami (Fla.) (12-0)BCS
2000-01Oklahoma (13-0)BCS
1999-00Florida State (12-0)BCS
1998-99Tennessee (13-0)BCS
1997Michigan (12-0), Nebraska (13-0)Michigan (AP, FWAA, NFF), Nebraska (USA-ESPN)
1996Florida (12-1)AP, FWAA, NFF,USA/CNN
1995Nebraska (12-0)AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1994Nebraska (13-0)AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1993Florida State (12-1)AP, FWAA,NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1992Alabama (13-0)AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1991Washington (12-0), Miami (Fla.) (12-0)Washington (FWAA, UPI-NFF, USA-CNN), Miami (FL) (AP)
1990Colorado (11-1-1), Georgia Tech (11-0-1)Colorado (AP, FWAA, NFF, USA-CNN), Georgia Tech (UPI)
1989Miami (Fla.) (11-1)AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1988Notre Dame (12-0)AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1987Miami (Fla.) (12-0)AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1986Penn State (12-0)AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1985Oklahoma (11-1)AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1983Miami (Fla.) (11-1)AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1982Penn State (11-1)AP, FWAA, NFF, USA/CNN, UPI
1981Clemson (12-0)AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1980Georgia (12-0)AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1979Alabama (12-0)AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1978Alabama (12-1), USC (12-1)Alabama (AP, FWAA, NFF), USC (UPI)
1977Notre Dame (11-1)AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1976Pittsburgh (12-0)AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1975Oklahoma (11-1)AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1974USC (10-1-1), Oklahoma (11-0)USC (FWAA, NFF, UPI), Oklahoma (AP)
1973Notre Dame (11-0), Alabama (11-1)Notre Dame (AP, FWAA, NFF), Alabama (UPI)
1972USC (12-0)AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1971Nebraska (13-0)AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1970Nebraska (11-0-1), Texas (10-1), Ohio State (9-1)Texas (NFF, UPI), Nebraska (AP, FWAA), Ohio State (NFF)
1969Texas (11-0)AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1968Ohio State (10-0)AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1967USC (10-1)AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1966Notre Dame (9-0-1), Michigan State (9-0-1)Notre Dame (AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI), Michigan State (NFF)
1965Michigan State (10-1), Alabama (9-1-1)Michigan State (FWAA, NFF, UPI), Alabama (AP, FWAA)
1964Alabama (10-1), Arkansas (11-0), Notre Dame (9-1)Alabama (AP, UPI), Arkansas (FWAA), Notre Dame (NFF)
1963Texas (11-0)AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1962USC (11-0)AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1961Alabama (11-0), Ohio State (8-0-1)Alabama (AP, NFF, UPI), Ohio State (FWAA)
1960Minnesota (8-2), Ole Miss (10-0-1)Minnesota (AP, NFF, UPI), Ole Miss (FWAA)
1959Syracuse (11-0)AP, FWAA, NFF, UPI
1958LSU (11-0), Iowa (8-1-1)AP, UPI, FWAA
1957Ohio State (9-1), Auburn (10-0)Ohio State (FWAA, UPI), Auburn (AP)
1956Oklahoma (10-0)AP, FWAA, UPI
1955Oklahoma (11-0)AP, FWAA, UPI
1954UCLA (9-0), Ohio State (10-0)UCLA (FWAA, UPI), Ohio State (AP)
1953Maryland (10-1)AP, UPI
1952Michigan State (9-0)AP, UPI
1951Tennessee (10-0)AP, UPI
1950Oklahoma (10-1)AP, UPI
1949Notre Dame (10-0)AP
1948Michigan (9-0)AP
1947Notre Dame (9-0)AP
1946Notre Dame (8-0-1)AP
1945Army (9-0)AP
1944Army (9-0)AP
1943Notre Dame (9-1)AP
1942Ohio State (9-1)AP
1941Minnesota (8-0)AP
1940Minnesota (8-0)AP
1939Texas A&M (11-0)AP
1938TCU (11-0), Tennessee (11-0)AP
1937Pittsburgh (9-0-1)AP
1936Minnesota (7-1) AP
1935Minnesota (8-0)CFRA/HAF/NCF
1934Minnesota (8-0)CFRA, HAF, NCF
1933Michigan (7-0-1)CFRA, HAF, NCF
1932USC (10-0)CFRA, HAF, NCF
1931USC (10-1)CFRA, HAF, NCF
1930Notre Dame (10-0), Alabama (10-0)CFRA, HAF, NCF
1929Notre Dame (7-2-2)CFRA, HAF, NCF
1928Georgia Tech (10-0)CFRA, HAF, NCF
1927Illinois (7-0-1), Yale (7-1)HAF, NCF, CFRA
1926Alabama (9-0-1), Stanford (10-0-1)CFRA, HAF, NCF, HAF
1925Alabama (10-0), Notre Dame (10-0)CFRA, HAF, NCF
1924Notre Dame (7-2-2)CFRA, HAF, NCF
1923Illinois (8-0), Michigan (8-0)CFRA, HAF, NCF, NCF
1922California (9-0), Cornell (8-0), Princeton (8-0)NCF, HAF, CFRA, NCF
1921California (9-0-1), Cornell (8-0)CFRA, NCF, HAF
1920California (9-0)CFRA, HAF, NCF
1919Harvard (9-0-1), Illinois (6-1), Notre Dame (9-0), Texas A&M (10-0)CFRA, HAF, NCF, CFRA, NCF, NCF
1918Michigan (5-0), Pittsburgh (4-1)NCF, HAF, NCF
1917Georgia Tech (9-0)HAF, NCF
1916Pittsburgh (8-0)HAF, NCF